An amusing exchange . . .

I came across this amusing exchange in Daniel Okrent’s Last Call.

Wayne Wheeler

Wayne Wheeler, the country’s leading prohibitionist and architect of the 18th amendment, characterized the president of Columbia University, Nicholas Murray Butler (diplomat, philosopher, and recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize who opposed prohibition) as “soaked in avarice, lust and rum” and that he belonged “with the bootleggers, rum-runners, owners of speak-easy property, wet newspapers, underworld denizens, alcoholic slaves and personal liberty fanatics in his fight to bring back booze.” 

Nicholas Butler

To which Butler replied, “It sounds as if something had happened to trouble him.” 

Published in: on March 11, 2017 at 9:37 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2017/03/11/an-amusing-exchange/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am currently visiting baltimore. I wondered if you were speaking in this area. I have enjoyed your various websites. I can send you my email.

    • Hi Janice. Thanks for the compliment on the websites. I’m about 3-4 hours drive from Baltimore, so it’s not a place I get to unless I have an invitation to speak at some museum conference or book event.

  2. This is funny. Especially Butler’s reply.

  3. I love reading these! You are an amazing woman.xoxo


What do you think?

