A Surprise Nomination

stolen-memories-ebook-coverI was so surprised when I got a phone call telling me STOLEN MEMORIES was a finalist for a prestigious Daphne award, I must have sounded like an idiot . . . I kept repeating, “What award? Are you sure?” The caller was sure. The book is one of five finalists in the category of Historical Mystery/Suspense. The winner will be announced on July 13-16 in San Diego at the Romance Writers of America conference. I don’t imagine my book will win–after all, it has only a 20% chance–but I’m thrilled it’s a finalist.

The award is named for the late Daphne du Maurier, one of my favorite authors (Rebecca, Frenchman’s Creek, The Birds, Jamaica Inn, etc.) Young_Daphne_du_Maurier

Published in: on June 11, 2016 at 7:48 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2016/06/11/a-surprise-nomination/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations!!! We’re crossing our fingers for you!

    Maria Shugars

  2. congrats! that’s so exciting!

  3. Mary, I am so happy for you, and I truly enjoyed the book! Will you be going to San Diego? Have been thinking about you. Am fixing your seafood dish tonight. Last time I did, it was delicious! Also, my book club is currently reading Rebecca by DuMaurier. A little ironic. Congratulations! I think you have a great chance of winning! Would love to get together again soon. Kathy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Thanks! I won’t be able to attend the San Diego conference due to previous vacation plans but will track the proceedings.

  4. Wonderful! I am enjoying the book as we speak! Good luck!

  5. Mary,

    Congratulations on this great honor of being finalist! My best wishes for you. I loved the story and characters and would love to see it made into a Hallmark movie.

    Please let it us know when your next book has been published so I can get it right away. You talk about your novels but then forget to say that they have been published and are for sale!

    Last week I get an email from Pinterest saying I might be interested in someone’s pins and it was yours! It made my day. Yes. I think we have interests in common!

    Jan Presley *1920sEraTown.com*

    • That’s quite a coincidence (about Pinterest) considering how many millions of people are on that site.I didn’t know they recommended sites. I’m a real novice where social media is concerned.
      My most recent book is the one that is a Dap finalist, STOLEN MEMORIES. Next to appear is RENTING SILENCE, published by Severn House in the U.K. and Australia in August, but in the U.S. in December. (Don’t ask . . . ) So depending upon your location, you can get a copy through the amazon.uk.com site on August 31, but it will cost you extra postage to mail a hard copy to the States. About $7-8, I think. So it is better to wait until December 1. But I think you can order a digital copy from the UK site without incurring extra costs . . . not sure about that.

  6. How nice that you are being considered for the award!
    I have enjoyed all the things you have written on your website. I enjoy history and you have enlightened me on many things.
    I am sure you will do well.

    • Thanks, Janice!

  7. That’s good to hear. I enjoyed reading this book. The story was captivating.


What do you think?

