Not the Usual Way to Use Pinterest

images-1

When the Apple Genius at our local Apple store described me to another Apple Genius as “extremely challenged,” I realized I would never be part of the computer generation. After all, I don’t like for Facebook, can’t stand Twitter, and am baffled by Goodreads; however, I do understand Pinterest. Or, at least, I understand how I can use it to support my mysteries. I’ve illustrated my books via Pinterest.impersonator

My novels are set in 1924-1925, a time no one alive remembers–even those who, like my own parents, were born in the Roaring Twenties don’t remember that era, because they were too young. And many people haven’t been to Oregon and can’t visualize the unique Oregon coast, with its amazing sea caves, immense rocks, and agate beaches. Vaudeville is virtually a lost medium–the closest thing to it is the Ed Sullivan Show, which is itself too far back for most people today to remember. So how to overcome issues like this? Pinterest.

colorWith Pinterest, I’ve posted photos of Jack Benny, before he was called Jack Benny, when he was young and handsome. I’ve posted pictures of vaudeville children who looked like Jessie, my main character, would have looked when she performed on stage; pictures of the mercury bichloride and Veronal, drugs which poisoned several of my characters; pictures of Douglas Fairbanks, Mary Pickford, Charlie Chaplin, Myrna Loy, and other silent film actors as they appeared in the 1920s; pictures of cloche hats, period makeup, bobbed hair styles, cars of the mid-Twenties, and houses where the stars lived; and the Hollywoodland sign as it originally looked. So many pictures . . . I suspect this isn’t the way Pinterest was intended to be used, but it works for me and my readers. Have a look. And let me know what I missed: is there something else you read about in the book that you think I could illustrate on these pages?

Illustrations for THE IMPERSONATOR at https://www.pinterest.com/mmtheobald/jessies-world-the-impersonator/

Illustrations for SILENT MURDERS at https://www.pinterest.com/mmtheobald/jessies-world-silent-murders/

Published in: on April 6, 2015 at 7:15 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/not-the-usual-way-to-use-pinterest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wish that you could meet my mother-in-law. She is 101. Yes, that number is correct. And very lucid. The things that she is able to tell you!

    • I hope you take advantage of her memory to ask lots of questions about her early life. I will always regret that I didn’t ask more questions of my grandparents, who lived to 100 and 95. Older relatives are such a treasure!!

  2. I love the second board. When my book is ready, I want to do a board like that.

    I couldn’t open the first link 😦

    • Thanks for letting me know. I think I fixed it. If not, try copying this:


What do you think?

