Magic in the Moonlight: a Twenties Movie

MV5BMTQ3NDY5NjIwN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjQ2ODkxMjE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_My interest in the Twenties steered me to Magic in the Moonlight, a film that came out last year starring Colin Firth and Emma Stone. It’s a light, romantic comedy set in 1928 along the Mediterranean coast of France and the plot sounded somewhat like the plot of my own first novel, The Impersonator, so I knew I’d enjoy it. 

An experienced magician is asked by another magician friend to debunk a young woman who claims to be able to contact the spirits. The friend says he’s tried but can’t figure out how she does it. So the cocky Colin Firth enters the scene. (He’s playing a part that Houdini played in real life, debunking fake mediums.) Of course, he falls for the woman. Frustratingly, he can’t figure out how she’s doing it either, and at last he concludes that he was wrong, that some people really can contact the spirits of the dead in seances. And then there’s the ending. 

My main character, Jessie, has worked for magicians in her younger days and has participated in similar scams to bilk gullible people who want to contact the spirits of their dead relatives. Jessie knows the tricks. She would have known this one. I did not! 

It didn’t make much of a splash in theaters, but it’s available through Netflix. I recommend it to those who enjoy the clothing and cars of the era–not to mention the beautiful scenery. 

Published in: on March 28, 2015 at 7:30 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2015/03/28/magic-in-the-moonlight-a-twenties-movie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just watched this movie after seeing it here on the blog. It’s a cute movie, nothing fantastic. The music, scenery, props and clothing from the 1920’s were great!

    • My sentiments exactly. Did you guess the ending? I’m embarrassed to admit I did not. (And I dare to call myself a mystery writer!)


What do you think?

