Spanish Roaring Twenties

 

IMG_0111

I returned last night from a week in Seville, Spain, where I immersed myself in that city’s remarkable collection of historic sights. Using a pedometer for the fun of it, I clocked myself walking 8 to 12 miles a day as I went from cathedral to palace to convent to museum to bullfight ring to tapas bar, squeezing in some shopping along the way. Not everything I saw was ancient. In a region famous for its colorful,lead-glazed ceramic tiles, I came across several historical tile advertisements that begged me to snap their pictures–they clearly dated from the 1920s. Aren’t these amazing? The one above is an ad for a Studebaker car; below seems to be an ad for a restaurant that may have once existed on that corner. Almost one hundred years old, they have sustained relatively little damage–only a few of the tiles are chipped. I can’t get away from the Twenties, no matter where I go! 

IMG_0102

Published in: on March 15, 2015 at 5:10 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/spanish-roaring-twenties/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Such a cool advertisement. Thanks for sharing!


What do you think?

