A Re-created 1920s Town Emerges

Seibert$20Food$20StoreWhile in Denver last week for a charity Book & Author event, I met Jan Presley, who shares my own interest in the Roaring Twenties. But Jan has an unusual way of expressing her interest. I write mysteries set in the Roaring Twenties. She is re-creating a Roaring Twenties town in Colorado.

logoSeibert is a small, historic town located two hours east of Denver, just one mile off busy highway 70. It has a population of 184. Ms. Presley is slowly buying up property and returning the buildings to business typical of the 1920s, including a bed-and-breakfast inn, two restaurants, a speakeasy (appropriately concealed behind an ice cream parlour), two gift/antique shops, and a movie theater. Her vision is for the town to become a tourist destination.

61f89a1c466604b2ffff8174ffffe415For more details, see her website at http://www.1920seratown.com

 

Published in: on November 16, 2014 at 1:09 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2014/11/16/a-re-created-1920s-town-emerges/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your post re Seibert Roaring 20’s town.  I contacted her. Take Care. Do you ever get to Las Vegas area, would love to host an event for you to speak, let me know.  Tks…… One of my dimensional collages below available in prints as all of them are now.. Flapper Cover Girls, Mack Sennett, and Butterfly Girls! in my Silent Era Series

    |   | |   | |   |   |   |   |   | | DSC04345.JPGSharon Haugen shared from Dropbox | | | | View on http://www.dropbox.com | Preview by Yahoo | | | |   |

    Take Care….Sharon SILENTS ARE GOLDEN

  2. As a pent up author persona, I very much enjoyed “The Impersonator”, and looking forward to “Silent Murders”. The “1920’s era town” is a magnificent endeavor deserving great attention and support as it will substantially benefit the surrounding residents of Kit Carson County and visitors to Colorado. Ladies and Gentlemen, hats off to Ms. Presley with her outstanding creative vision.

  3. Big fan of your blog – now I have a vacation destination! Thanks for the insight…

  4. Mary, I can’t thank you enough for featuring my re-creation of a 1920s Era Town in Seibert in your blog. I really appreciate this exposure of my project to your subscribers, who are obviously interested in the 1920s as we are. That special 20s angel is out there somewhere. Could be one of your readers! Thank you so much!

    • You’re welcome. You never know where help will come from.

  5. Janet Presley, this is soooo cool. I am going to show this to your Mom tomorrow!And, Mary, I am going to buy your books NOW!!

    • Kathy, thanks so much for finding Mary’s blog about my 1920s Era Town Project in Seibert. It may have been two years since her post but my resolve to bring this project to life is still very much alive as I want to make this town for all to experience.
      Mary’s novels are really good and I so enjoy the parts that are directly linked to one of her blogs! It’s like being an insider and knowing something special. Can’t wait for the next one!


What do you think?

