Hooray! Cover art for SILENT MURDERS is here!

You can’t judge a book by its cover, but we all do. So I’m pleased that I’m pleased with the cover for my next book, SILENT MURDERS, which will be released on September 23.

The art director for St.Martin’s/Minotaur has been working on the cover for some time, and I thought you’d like to see how the process works. Here’s the first attempt. I’m fortunate that my publisher listens to its authors when designing their book covers–many (most?) do not. I wondered about the use of denim as a background for the title–blue jeans in the 1920s didn’t seem to fit. It was meant to look like the hardcover below the torn book jacket, but to me it said “blue jeans.” And the face was a little cheesy, too innocent, too modern, too much like a romance novel, which SILENT MURDERS certainly is not.

silent murders 1

The second attempt was more authentic and more interesting. In fact, they chose to use an actual  photograph from the mid-1920s. This woman looks less “ingenue,” more mysterious. I liked it very much, but thought it was drab. I wondered if they had designed it that way on purpose to mimic the black and white silent movies of the era, which form the backdrop for the story. But still, I asked if they couldn’t inject a little color. 

silent murders

Third time’s the charm, right? Here are the final results–I think it’s terrific. Now all I have to do is wait until September to see the finished product.  

color

 

 

Published in: on June 6, 2014 at 8:49 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/hooray-cover-art-for-silent-murders-is-here/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think you are correct. The third version is the best. I can’t wait for this book to come out!!

  2. The third attempt is much better than the first, but I might like the bottom third of the second submission better, without the gold circle. I think that “Silent Murder” would also have been a good title. I’m sure it will be a great novel.

    • You’re right, SIlent Murder (singular) is a good title. We chose plural because (as you will see) there are several. But murder can be plural in a sense too, and wold have been appropriate.

  3. It’s a fantastic cover. You can’t be mistaken that it’s about the Twenties and something mysterious is going to happen.
    I really like it.

    • Glad to hear your think it says “twenties.” I do as well, but I’m so steeped in that decade, I’m not a good judge.

  4. I just finished reading _The Impersonator_and really enjoyed it. I hope the characters carry forward into your later books!

    • Thanks. Jessie and David continue in Silent Murders.

  5. Love it. I’m so glad they opted for an actual vintage photograph–the eyebrows in the first version don’t look at all 20s.


What do you think?

