St. Louis in the Twenties

I was looking into the history of St. Louis in the Twenties, planning to set part of my fourth book in that city. I intend to send Jessie there to look into a murder. In the course of my research, I came across these 2 pictures of St. Louis I thought I’d share. Sure wish I could put pictures in my books! What a hoot that would be!

01.16.13 Prohib officers drain mash at Franklin ave dist MHS CCSearch___SourceThis one shows police smashing holes in the walls to drain massive tanks of whiskey that they’ve discovered inside. 

And look closely in the background of this one from 1919, you’ll see a sign that warns people about the approach of Prohibition so they’ll stock up on liquor while they still can. “Buy now for the rest of your life!” 

two men june 1919 sign behind___Source

St. Louis suffered terribly during Prohibition when most of its breweries went out of business. The largest, Anheuser Busch, managed to hang on by selling near beer and home brewery staples. 

Published in: on October 27, 2013 at 3:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/st-louis-in-the-twenties-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

What do you think?

