Cover art for The Impersonator

At last, the cover art is finished! I love it.

Interestingly, the process involved 4 versions, and I thought you’d like to see them from start to finish.

image001Here’s the first try. A great design, obviously, but nothing about it says Roaring Twenties. This young woman is not a flapper. In fact, the hat and clothing are very much 1900-1905 and the border is Art Nouveau rather than the more appropriate Art Deco. So I asked for some changes, not on artistic merits but on historical issues. This is what I got.

impersonatorThis is the second version. Not much change. A little less Art Nouveau but the clothing and jewelry are still not “flapper.” A pearl necklace in the flapper era would have been matching pearls, not a mixup like this and the hat is not a cloche, the iconic flapper style. So I suggested another try, and because St. Martins/Minotaur is such a great publisher, they listened. (Most would not.)

impersonatorSo here was the third version–much, much improved! The cloche hat is very Twenties, and the pearls are matched. Historically it is now fine, but I thought, a little dull.

In the fourth and final iteration, the artist added some color to the hat and lips and to my name as well. This makes it more interesting in my opinion.

I love it. What do you think?

Impersonator final

Published in: on July 6, 2013 at 12:38 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/cover-art-for-the-impersonator/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I agree. My only observation was that the pearls should not have been a choker. Did they wear those in the 20’s? I think looser pearls more appropriate but could be wrong, of course. There is not enough space for the longer, dangling pearls that I think of.

    • I thought a log string of pearls would have been more accurate, historically, but they would not have shown up in the picture, so at least the pearls got in.

  2. I think it looks great!

  3. Mary,
    I like the blue bow on the hat is great. I really did not like the first two and the final version looks fantastic. Barbara

  4. Oh, wow, that was a vast improvement! I have the audiobook version (loved it, btw), which also has a very strong 20’s vibe to the cover art. Did you get a say in that one too?

    The 20’s look was a big part of the appeal, I must admit. I’ve long been fascinated by Louise Brooks, and that was a big reason I bought it.

    • I was fortunate that my publisher, St. Martin’s, listened to my comments about the cover. Many do not. And I’m a Brooks fan too! I’ve read her autobiography and enjoyed the fictionalized account of her life in The Chaperone. Have you read those?

      • I’ve had The Chaperone on my bedside table for ages, maybe I’ll bump it up! I didn’t realize she’d done an autobiography, must pick that up. I read Paris’s biography ages ago, which was pretty good. I did wonder if he pulled his worst punches regarding her darker, destructive side. That was one of the reasons I picked up The Chaperone, because that setup sounded like fertile ground to show her complexities.

  5. Good info. Lucky me I found your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!


What do you think?

