Editing “The Impersonator”

MinotaurLogoSmallI’ve just finished going through the copyeditor’s comments and corrections for my manuscript. What a humbling experience! I used to think I was pretty good at this sort of stuff. Here are some of the things I learned:

It’s “Uncle Charles,” but “your uncle Charles.” Or, “I told Aunt Victoria how much . . . ” vs. “I told my aunt Victoria how much . . .” 

It’s “I have a couple of dollars” not “I have a couple dollars.” 

It’s “just deserts,” not “just desserts.” 

It’s slipup, not slip up.

It’s a while, not awhile.

It’s good-bye, not goodbye.

Now I send the manuscript back to the publisher. I’m still waiting to see what sort of cover art they come up with, and will post the results as soon as I know. 

 

Published in: on March 30, 2013 at 8:09 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2013/03/30/editing-the-impersonator/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your editor! I’d have done the same thing, and sometimes I wonder if the language is changing so fast I can’t keep up. So happy to know it’s not just me. I’m speaking as the editor-me now as opposed to the author-me. By the way, I learned all that stuff from copy editors, too. However, I did object once when the copy editor wanted to change my footpad into a foot path.

    • Ha! Footpad v. foot path! I, too, drew the line in a few cases, like capitalizing Big Time and Small Time for vaudeville circuits. The copyeditor wanted to use small case and Webster’s 11th edition (the traitor!) backed her up. But I feel strongly that NOT capitalizing those words will cause confusion. As in a sentence like, “We were hoping to play big time soon.” Huh? But “We were hoping to play Big Time soon” is clear. To me, at least. I caved on most things, but couldn’t on that one.


What do you think?

