“Lawless”: A New Twenties Movie about Bootleggers

The Roaring Twenties era continues to intrigue us. Here’s a new movie, “Lawless,” about bootlegging in the Virginia mountains. I haven’t seen it yet; have you?

One reviewer wrote that it was pretty hard to distinguish the good guys from the bad guys, a sentiment that I believe sums up the Prohibition years nicely. Everyone was corrupt.

Check out the trailer.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Zl7S1LaPMU.

Published in: on September 28, 2012 at 10:02 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/lawless-a-new-twenties-movie-about-bootleggers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I was excited to see this film but it was a huge disappointment. Poorly done. The soundtrack is even (mostly) modern. Too bad. There is still ‘The Great Gatsby’ this year.

    • I’m kinda squeamish when it comes to gratuitous violence, and am a little hesitant to see this one.

  2. I loved this movie. I felt connected to the characters and felt it kept me on the edge of my seat. Also loved the cinematography was wonderful , the visuals of the cars, trucks, buildings and clothing brought me to an era I am researching for my book. I gave it two thumbs up. 🙂

  3. Great info. Lucky me I ran across your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!


What do you think?

