Antique Flapper Dress, ca. 1925

flapper dress ca. 1925

My cousin just sent me this flapper dress that belonged to our grandmother. She wore it in about 1925 and kept it all her life. I remember seeing it in a drawer when I was a child, about fifty years ago. Actually she had two, a green one and this peach one, and I remember being shocked at how heavy they were. Each was laden with silver beads, millions of them. Some have become tarnished, but not all. The dress is short, which is why I date it to the middle of the Roaring Twenties. 

I’m planning to bring it with me next year when I do book signings for THE IMPERSONATOR. I think it will make a great show-and-tell, along with other items I’ve collected that relate to the mystery, such as vaudeville programs.  

Published in: on September 2, 2012 at 1:41 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/antique-flapper-dress-ca-1925/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. this is just to die for – i was just about to ask you where i can buy it from
    aaawww…this just beautiful i don’t think it should ever leave the family!!

  2. Wonderful to have a piece of history. Any pictures of the lady wearing it? Love to see the makeup, hat, shoes and hairstyle standing next to the car of the time. Thanks for sharing.

    • Although I have lots of pictures of my grandmother, none are from her early years. I wish I had one of her in this!


What do you think?

