The Algonquin Hotel in New York

Last weekend, a group of us went to New York to see some Broadway plays, and we stayed at the Algonquin Hotel. I loved its historic status and its connection to the Roaring Twenties! Interestingly, while most hotels and restaurants in New York flouted the Prohibition laws and served liquor pretty openly, the Algonquin remained dry. 

The Blue Bar

The hotel was built in 1902, but became famous in the Twenties when a distinguished group of literary men and women began meeting there almost daily for lunch. People like Dorothy Parker, Robert Benchley, Edna Ferber, F. Scott Fitgerald, and Ernest Hemingway,whose witty remarks are quoted on plaques on each room’s door. Our room had a quote from Dorothy Parker–a poem. 

I like to have a martini,
Two at the very most.
After three I’m under the table,
after four I’m under my host.

I walked around the entire tenth floor, reading the quotations on every door and laughing at most. If I need to use a hotel in my fourth Roaring Twenties mystery, some of which will take place in New York, I’ll certainly use the Algonquin to set the scene.

Here’s the famous “Round Table” where the writers and critics met. They called themselves the Vicious Circle.

Published in: on August 12, 2012 at 3:45 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marymiley.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/the-algonquin-hotel-in-new-york/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I drank several martinis here in 1981 – well over four but couldn’t find a man, woman or one of the undead to fall under aka Ms Parker. It is though a wonderful place!

  2. Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I will certainly digg it and
    personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.


What do you think?

